Mayor and Council

The Mayor’s Message

This town we call home has a vast history and heritage dating back for centuries. Our community was built on a beautiful landscape which I believe is our biggest asset and still provides us with great potential as we continue to grow. The area outside our inner core is changing, a progress we must allow, but strictly control. However the area around Torbay Bight which is known for its beauty is our main attraction bringing visitors to our town from all over the world. We must preserve and utilize that beauty with as little change as possible. Over this four year term of Council we must work to provide not only the necessary services residents expect, but to bring this community together so that our people of all ages can enjoy this beautiful town we share. We need everyone’s help. Please join us and get involved in your community’s progress.



About Town CouncilIMG_5561

Five Town Councillors, Mayor, and Deputy Mayor make up the Town Council of Torbay. The Mayor & Councillors are elected during the municipal election, which is normally held throughout the Province of Newfoundland and Labrador every four years. The Town Councillors and the Mayor subsequently elect the Deputy Mayor during the first meeting of the new Council. The election of the Deputy Mayor is conducted by the Town Clerk or Returning Officer and is decided by a secret vote.

The position of Mayor for the Town of Torbay is determined by a separate vote. The Mayor is the presiding officer of the Town Council and is the official head of the Town for all ceremonial purposes. The Mayor, and in his or her absence, the Deputy Mayor, shall preside at all meetings of the Town Council.

Your Town Council welcomes communication from residents on any municipal matters of concern.

Past Council Meeting Minutes.


Geoff Gallant

Deputy Mayor

(709) 437-7294

Peggy Roche


(709) 437-6193

Brian Whitty


(709) 437-2691

Craig Scott


(709) 437-7288

Carol Ann Smith


(709) 437-6857

Mary Thorne-Gosse


(709) 437-5900